Nursery Curriculum

Kelloe Phoenix Centre offers stimulating and challenging play activities for all children. Under the supervision of skilled and dedicated staff your child will be encouraged to develop their confidence and self esteem. The curriculum is broad, balanced and relevant in meeting the needs of young children through the use of the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. Staff will plan weekly activities suitable for each age and stage of development. Planning relevant to your children's development is displayed on the notice board in each room, so parents can see what their child will be doing that day. Should you require any more information please approach a member of staff who will be more than happy to help.

All children attending the nursery will be given a Learning Journey folder. The folder will be full of Journeys that have been completed on your child by their Key Person. These files help us as practitioners to monitor, move on and reflect on your child’s development while with us. These folders will also be passed onto the child’s Nursery Teacher. If you would like any further information or would like to come and have a look around, please do not hesitate to contact a member of staff.

Early Years Foundation Stage

Welcome to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), this is how the Government and early year’s professionals describe the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5. This is a very important stage as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes. From when your child is born up until the age of 5, their early years experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs. Nurseries, pre-schools, reception classes and childminders registered to deliver the EYFS must follow a legal document called the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework.

EYFS Framework

The EYFS Framework exists to support all professionals working in the EYFS to help your child, and was developed with a number of early year’s experts and parents. In 2012 the framework was revised to make it clearer and easier to use, with more focus on the things that matter most. This new framework also has a greater emphasis on your role in helping your child develop.

It sets out: The legal welfare requirements that everyone registered to look after children must follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare. The 7 areas of learning and development which guide professionals’ engagement with your child’s play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge. Assessments that will tell you about your child’s progress through the EYFS. Expected levels that your child should reach age 5, usually the end of the reception year; these expectations are called the “Early Learning Goals (ELGs)”. There is also guidance for the professionals supporting your child on planning the learning activities, and observing and assessing what and how your child is learning and developing.

When your child is 2

At some point after your child turns 2, the professionals working with your child must give you a written summary of how your child is progressing against the 3 prime areas of learning: Communication and language; Physical development; and Personal, social and emotional development. This is called the progress check at age 2. This check will highlight areas where your child is progressing well and where they might need extra help or support – and how mums and dads and other family members or carers can work with the key person to help. You might find it useful to share the information from the check with other professionals such as health visitors (who can use it as part of the health and development review).

Further Education

Kelloe Phoenix Centre has strong links with Kelloe Community Primary School who provide free pre-school education for children aged 3 and up.
Visit their website:

10% Off

for siblings

20% Off

Your first month
of childcare

Registration is free!


Take a look around!